Looking Forward

DRIn the words of Mother Teresa, “If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.” According to one estimate, there are over 150 million documented orphans in the world. This number can seem overwhelming at first – so overwhelming that we might be tempted to sit back helplessly and not do anything. However, God doesn’t evaluate our service based on how many people we touch, but rather by how willing we are to serve Him. He is concerned about our faithfulness, not our productivity.

Over the past few years, God has placed a burden on my heart for Latin America. As I fell in love with the Latin American culture, language, and people, I started to wonder whether God was calling me to serve Him in a Spanish-speaking country. This desire to serve the Latin American people only increased when I went on a short term mission trip to the Dominican Republic in the summer of 2016 and experienced firsthand the beauty – and brokenness – of that little country.

When I applied to an internship to the Dominican Republic with Kids Alive International, I hardly dared to hope that I would be accepted. During that week of waiting to hear back from the organization regarding my acceptance, I had a hard time sleeping some nights because the desire to return to the Dominican Republic was so strong. When I found out that I was accepted, I was – needless to say – thrilled. God is so good.

Kids Alive International is a Christian organization “committed to providing physical and spiritual care for orphaned and abandoned children around the world.” I will be interning at one of the Kids Alive sites in the Dominican Republic as a teaching assistant, so I will have the opportunity to engage my love of language, children, and teaching all at once.

Although I am extremely excited to spend the summer in the DR, I recognize that the internship will be difficult as well as incredibly eye-opening. Please pray for strength and unity for all of us interns as we leave behind our friends and families and venture out into the unknown. Pray that God will use this time to give me His eyes so that I will value and love these children as He values and loves them.

If you would like to help me financially, I would greatly appreciate your support! If you decide to support me financially, please mail all financial gifts to: Kids Alive International, 2507 Cumberland Drive, PO BOX 2117, Valparaiso, IN 46384-2117. Make sure to include all reply cards so that Kids Alive can issue you a tax-deductible receipt. If you would would prefer to support me online, you can go to www.kidsalive.org and find me by clicking on “Intern Support” under the “Support our Work” tab.

Thank you so much for your prayers and support! I am so thrilled to see what God has in store for this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

